skip to Main Content

Continuing Educations, Inc. is an approved sponsor of Continuing Education in the state of Illinois (License #190-000203). All of our home study courses have been approved for license renewal within the Illinois licensing law. The following guidelines will assist you in meeting the state requirements. The Illinois Department of Professional Regulation allows only 50% of your continuing education hour requirements to be credited through home study programs. The balance must be obtained through personally attended classroom instruction. We invite and encourage you to take as many courses as you wish for education purposes…but if you are applying the C.E. credits towards your license renewal please note the information below. Our home study courses are prepared as a classroom alternative and every attention is given to ensure quality education. You may take any and all of the courses offered, however, if the courses you choose are intended to be used as a C.E. credit toward particular license renewal, the Department of Professional Regulation has specific guidelines as to which courses qualify for continuing education credit in each profession. When choosing your courses, be aware that the state does not recognize duplication of courses.

Illinois Continuing Education Credit Allowance through Home Study Courses:

  • Cosmetologists – 14 Hours (7 hours of home study allowed)
  • Nail Technicians – 10 Hours (5 hours of home study allowed)
  • Estheticians – 10 Hours (5 hours of home study allowed)
  • Cosmetology Teachers – 24 Hours (12 hours of home study allowed)
    -10 hours must be in teaching methodology
  • Nail & Esthetician Teachers – 20 Hours (10 hours of home study allowed)
    -10 hours must be in teaching methodology

The IDFPR is allowing CE hours to be completed in-person and Live Webinars via Zoom. The Zoom classes will constitute classroom hours!

Reminder: you may do 1/2 of your required CE hours in Home Study Courses if you wish.

NEW 2020 Law for Sexual Harassment Prevention: 1 CE Hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention is required every renewal. This hour is NOT an additional hour to your required CE hours but rather part of the total CEU requirement. Sexual Harassment Prevention Training must be done by an approved CE sponsor.

At this time, we do not offer the Domestic Violence class that is a one-time required CEU hour.

Not all states require continuing education for the renewal of licenses. Those that do, may have restrictions on the courses they will accept and may require that the provider of CE education be approved and licensed by the state. It is important that you know what your state requirements are and that your provider is properly licensed.

Cart
Back To Top